Why Brightkey (like most keyboards) requires ‘Full Access’ to your device

Dear Brightkey fans,

As part of the keyboard setup process described in our Tutorial, you have to click a toggle button to allow ‘Full Access’ to your device, and then you see the scary warning message below:

fullaccess

This message is understandably setting off warning bells, so we want to take a moment to explain why this message appears and to re-assure you that Brightkey is not storing, logging, or otherwise collecting any of your sensitive information in any way.

Why Brightkey needs ‘Full Access’

The Brightkey keyboard that pops up when you type is technically different from the app that you download and contains the tutorial, your themes, and your preference settings. In order for the keyboard to know which themes or settings you’ve chosen, the app needs to “talk” to the keyboard, and Apple requires your permission for this to take place. At the moment, there is no option other than “Full Access” – so they have included the disclaimer wording here to make sure users are aware of the potential risks.

What data is being transmitted?

The only data we are passing is the theme you have selected, the sound that is played when a key is pressed (the clicking noise), and the preference settings you have chosen, such as Auto-Capitalization, Auto-Correction, Enable Caps Lock, Predictive, and the “.” shortcut by double tapping the space bar. And we are using Google Analytics so that we can see statistics on downloads, devices, regions, etc. that are using the app. That’s it!

What data is not being transmitted?

We are not logging your keystrokes, saving your passwords, or sending any of the information you type back to our servers. Privacy and trust are fundamental to our business, and we take it very seriously. That’s why we’ve written our privacy policy in way that doesn’t require a law degree to understand. If you have any questions, please ask!

What happens if I don’t allow full access?

If you do decide not to allow full access, we will not be able to ‘save’ your theme selection or play the clicking sound when you press a key. Some users have asked why the app always reverts to the blue theme even though they’ve selected another. This is one of the downsides of not allowing the app to talk to the keyboard.

Since there’s no need to worry, can’t you fix this message?

We are working with Apple for a more granular access level that is more appropriate for the level access that we do require to make our keyboard work as intended.

Still have questions?

Send us an email at support@brightkeysoftware.com. Happy typing!